Which diesel fuel supplement in a B model?

I had been using the silver bottle diesel kleen for a couple years in my 711. Last fall a piston melted because (presumably) an injector malfunctioned and wasn't spraying fuel properly. Not being a mechanic, I can't say what caused the injector to do that, so I'm not blaming the additive, but I was hoping that good fuel with a good additive along with regular filter changes would give me reliability out of this engine.

So, is the silver bottle additive good stuff (it is plentiful and can be found at NAPA and Wal-Mart around here), or is there something else that I should be using to treat the diesel in my B61 (and 7.3L and 5.9L Powerstroke and Cummins engines)?

i add nothing in the summer, and will only put howes in if it gets real cold.

i have 495,000 miles on my 88 7.3, and 195 on my 02 7.3.

the mack and cat engines currently have around 300,000 miles on them.

when you are up to your armpits in alligators,

it is hard to remember you only came in to drain the swamp..

I use Power Service in mine every few fill ups.  One bottle does 80 gallons, so I split it between the two tanks.  With the old 673 I would swear it gives it a few extra HP.  It would pull the hill on 224 in one higher gear after putting it in the tank.  Coincidence?  Who knows.  No real input on the 237 as it runs circles around how it used to pull anyway.

IMG-20180116-202556-655.jpg

Larry

1959 B61 Liv'n Large......................

Charter member of the "MACK PACK"

Been Using Power Service grey bottle (Silver??) 100 gal bottle split between my 52 gal factory tank and 60 gal aux tank about every other fill up in my 2014 Cummins 6.7.  Maybe i should alternate with Howes???

Brocky