Painted Fuel Tanks

I have a set of painted aluminum fuel tanks on my truck and I'm thinking about stripping the paint and polishing them.My question is whats the best way to strip the paint sand them down or is there a product that will strip paint,also after I get that done any polishing tips would be appreciated.thanks

If you might be interested in how I did about the tank of my R688ST read here:

http://www.bigmacktrucks.com/index.php?/topic/33825-fuel-tank-cap-question/

Everything easier, faster or better is interesting for me too.

Никогда не бывает слишком много грузовиков! leversole 11.2012

I am no paint expert but just a thought...

Perhaps blast with walnut shells, glass beads, or plastic abrasive. This would, in my novice opinion, strip the paint and semi-polish the tanks.

Hopefully someone else may have a "better" answer to your question.

Ken

PRR Country and Charter member of the "Mack Pack"

There is aircraft paint stripper for removing paint from aluminum.

Polishing can be done at home using small power tools and hand work. It takes LOTS of time.

Maybe ask around at some truck shops to see if there is a business that does tanks. It may seem like a lot of money but they would also know all the tricks to doing it and save your arms.

Jim

It doesn't cost anything to pay attention.

You can have the tanks soda blasted, that removes the paint and wont pit the finish underneath. Was going to have my tanks done that way to bring back the polished look but just painted them again. They will need to be all buffed out after blasting

• Like 1

I used a product called "Tal-Strip" that was first used for stripping paint off aircraft.I used plastic scrapers (like a bondo paddle) so as not to scratch the aluminum.I actually used it to strip the paint off the hood (fiberglass) on the BCR,also.Had to act quick with the fiberglass stripping,however!!