One year....5/30/12 - 5/30/13

1958 F.W.D.

I have been heavy for most of my life- since the age of 12-13 or so. In recent years my weight caught up with me creating all kinds of headaches and nightmares. I tried every diet and gimmick out there. I could lose weight, but keeping it off was the big trick. When I was a paid firefighter and had to go to the gym every shift, it was a little easier to do, but re-occurring back problems (which my obesity contributed to.....) forced me to resign as a career firefighter, albeit among other reasons. My heath was in rapid decline. I had high blood pressure, sleep apnea, back problems, high cholesterol, and the worst one of all- type II diabetes. However my family Doctor sat me down and had a heart-to-heart with me in the late summer of 2011. He looked me straight in the face and said "By Christmas of 2012, you WILL be an insulin-dependent diabetic giving yourself shots every day if you don't clean up your act. He suggested weight loss surgery.

So the wife (who is a cancer nurse) and I discussed things and in November of 2011 I attended the first of many, many office visits and tests and evaluations to see if I was fit for the surgery. This is just not something that you go to the surgeon and say "Lets do this." No it doesn't work that way- it's more of a "Lets test you and prod you and evaluate you and make sure you wont fuck up after we work so hard to rebuild you" kind of a thing. There is even a mental evaluation (which surprisingly I passed....go figure.....) We discussed the options- the gastric sleeve, the gastric band, or a full-blown gastric bypass. I originally had wanted to do the gastric sleeve, however the Doctor studied things and recommended the RNY Gastric Bypass because he felt it would be the best option with the greatest chance of success for me.