Slab thickness for new shop

ivanuke

What thickness would you guys recommend for a truck repair shop? I will be building a shop soon to service my fleet of dump trucks. Ive outgrown my 35x50 shop that has a 12" slab. That to me seems overkill. I am thinking 6" slap for the new shop. Any recommendations so the slab holds up for many years? Will also be adding a gantry crane in the future to lift dump beds and other items so I would most likely put grade beams for that. 

I’m far from an expert so keep that in mind, but I was looking at a finishing pouring a concrete slab in the back 16’ of my shop and the concrete guy told me 6” was enough for semis and equipment. So that’s what I’m planning on doing. Hope this was helpful. 

• Like 1

The problems we face today exist because the people who work for a living are outnumbered by the people who vote for a living.

The government can only "give" someone what they first take from another.

I am no expert either but I went with 6" on my 40 x 60 shop. No dump trucks but some large farm tractors and backhoes no cracks yet. I used some  wire mesh that I had in the middle. Went with fiber in the concrete. I do not remember the rating on the mix. Pour it as dry as you can and stay off it for as long as you can.. 

• Like 1