Governor Spring Replacement time!

Ok so im due for new governor springs in my 79 RS600L, with an EM6-300.  Its doing the lopey idle thing with a lopey acceleration.

I have never done springs before and this is my first Mack.  So, what all is involved?  I will be having an injection shop do the work but I need to know if I have to remove the entire injection pump or can I get to the springs another way?  I don't even know where the springs are...

Thanks fella's,

Im looking forward to getting this motor that's in excellent shape, running smoothly!!

IMG_0624.JPG

IMG_0787.JPG

I could be wrong, but wouldn't the springs in question be the external ones in your picture? Where the excellerator linkage goes into the pump? I see you have one Spring hanging down. 

Try installing that 2nd spring and see if it makes a difference. Will cost you about 2 minutes. 

Im expert but I pulled the whole pump to get mine done and guess what made no difference at all LOL true cost me $5000.00 but still hunted real bad after woulds so my advice check it out properly what the cause is before shelling out hard earned coin 

Paul

9 hours ago, mrsmackpaul said:

Im expert but I pulled the whole pump to get mine done and guess what made no difference at all LOL true cost me $5000.00 but still hunted real bad after woulds so my advice check it out properly what the cause is before shelling out hard earned coin 

Paul

What A knob head I am its meant to say Im no expert  because Im sure as hell not a expert at any of this and just blunder my way thru  

What a fool I am LOL

seeya's

42 minutes ago, mrsmackpaul said:

What A knob head I am its meant to say Im no expert  because Im sure as hell not a expert at any of this and just blunder my way thru  

What a fool I am LOL

seeya's

Yeah, U shuld b prefeck lik the rist ov us.....

• Like 2

Jim

It doesn't cost anything to pay attention.