B61 Cost of ownership/common problems.

Hey everyone, first post here. I've been shopping B61's and I found one close by me, a 1961 tow truck, single axel 10 speed. It had a restoration in the mid 80's to be used for a city towing contract. It was in service for about 15 years and I would guess it sat around for another 10-15 after the company went under. It does run and drive. I looked for a FAQ but I didn't see one. I'd like to better educate myself on what to look out for. Can you tell me what some common problems are with these old Macks and ball park parts costs to fix them (especially brake work) so I can get an idea if these are real money pits.

The truck isn't for me it's for my dad. He'll be retiring soon after 40 years on the railroad and my brother and I have been looking for something really cool to get him. In my opinion it doesn't get much cooler than an old Mack. He is a mechanic by trade, repairing freight cars mostly. I'm sure it's much different work but the point being something big won't scare him. He's also no stranger to twin stick transmissions and he loves the B series Macks. One was for sale near by about 8 years ago and he still occasionally talks about it. My brother and I are in our 20's and working with a somewhat low budget. Fortunately my dad likes a nice patina. On the other hand I don't want to set him up with a headache. I'm concerned about tools. My dad has some 3/4" gear but I suspect he might need 1" and probably some Mack specific items aswell as a jack that can handle the weight. My dad is always looking for an excuse to buy tools, but I don't want him to have to spend $2000 just to be able to do normal maintenance.

You don't have to dumb down your answers too much, I'm mechanically inclined and so is my brother.

Edited by lbar

hi!

Welcome to the forum

I love old b models as well as anyone.

you could consider any old truck a money pit

unless you buy one someone else has put all the money into