A friend of mine got a R model with a farm he bought.  He's been trying to sell it for 6k, I offered 3k.  I've been driving for 6 years and would like to have a toy to work on.  The frame/tanks/springs/break Chambers/engine still have paint (gold valve cover, fancy), no cracks in the double frame, and the cab has some crusty spots, hood is perfect.  Was just used at a cement plant hauling gravel then the farm and shows 345397 miles and the hour meter has 7409 hours (has a pto).  With a battery and a can of starting fluid it should fire up, last ran 2 years ago has been kept in the barn since 1985(last sticker on it).  Twin stick with Lo-Direct+reverse on the 2nd stick (6-speed?).  I want it, am I crazy? Or crazy if I don't buy it.

Edited by Rockland Steel
  • Like 1

10 minutes ago, eddeere said:

Buy it . If you do not you may regret later .

I think you're right. It's got a turbo on it and the after cooler. My 2015 Volvo has more crust on it than this thing running in Canada.  And a cab is no big deal on these. Well, it might have an after cooler, I don't know exactly what's what.  I just like it.

Edited by Rockland Steel

41 minutes ago, Freightrain said:

285 with tip turbine?

With camelback suspension...it will beat you to pieces driving it bobtail.  But it will be fun!!!!  LOL!!

Not a single air bag to be found on it.  Straight from pothole to spine.  And i'd love every second. I'll see if I can upload some pictures.

Looking at the picture now its just a 237 Maxi with a turbo, only one pipe to the air cleaner.

Edited by Rockland Steel

1 minute ago, Freightrain said:

Barn fresh!!!!  Little crusty here/there, but doesn't look too bad.  Hows the rain gutter area?  The roofs tend to rot off those trucks.