Mack 5speed swap

Kenny_dodge98

Question

Whats a better trans to swap in my 90 ch613 has a 300e6 and a 5speed i pull logs so im loaded above 80,000lb every load and having so few gears really kills the truck like it takes me miles to get up to speed. iv found a mack 9 speed from a r model  and a eaton fuller 9 speed from a newer ch that had a e7 motor which would you guys recommended and why and what all do i need for the swap other then trans a air supply for shifter and a drive shaft 

Your truck was designed to haul at weights of 80k pounds or less on flat to rolling paved roads. Above 80k pounds you need more than 300 HP and you need a lower 1st gear to start even 80k loads on steep hills and off road. You could swap in a 350 or 400 with more gears, but it makes more sense just to swap trucks.

It takes off fine 1st through 4 its just that with the five speed i shift into 5th at 40 mph im not new to trucks or driving im just new to mack thats why i asked about the transmission i dont need your opinion on my truck i just need facts about what i asked for

• Like 2

Sorry if I was a bit too direct and sounded harsh. The 300 Maxitorque with a 5 speed works fine doing what it was designed for, but if you need more power or deeper gear reduction you'll need to swap the engine and/or transmission. That can be done, but it's questionable if it's worth the time and cost on a 28 year old truck. That said, if you just need a deeper low gear, the 6 speed Mack transmission isn't that hard a swap and will solve that problem. You could swap in a 350 HP Mack engine, but it'll need a close ratio transmission to work. Swapping in a close ratio transmission with 9 or more speeds won't accomplish much, as the 300 HP Maxidyne produces over 90% of full power clear down to the RPM you downshift at.