New Macks...LOL! Maybe they should stay on the porch!

I just found this place and found it to be helpful on some of the issues we are having with the new Macks. So I decided to share my experiences with them to you.

I work in the oilfield and we decided it was time to phase out some of our old worn out Macks while expanding. Our first trucks were 10' granite, automatic. we were leary of the automatics but fell in love with them. After about a year we started to have troubles. Injectors would go bad, trucks won't regen, ABS quit workin etc. We would take them in to get repaired only to send them back a week or so later to get fixed. Then the EUP pump bolts started snapping off. Before we new it our trucks spent more time at Mack then working. So we started to buy other models thinking Granites sucked. Nope! same Problems!

Our first truck finally ran away on a road side. We pulled all fuses, disconnected battery, alternator, foot control and could not get it to shut off until we packed the air filter with rags. After our Mechanic got there we started it up and it tried to run away again. Too late, engine was already damaged. Mack towed it and tried to say natural gas caused it to run away. Until they learned that other truck drivers pulled over to help and their trucks never did anything. Then they tried to say it had 1/2 inch mud in the engine. How the hell it got there I do not know. After fighting with them for 3 months because they would not fix the truck or warranty it we finally got it back. After running it for 5 days we got water in the oil! We don't have that one anymore.

Meanwhile an automatic transmission went out on another truck and they tried to tell us there was sand in it. As I talked to the head mechanic he told me they had lots of issues with sand in the new trucks, especially sand in the urea tanks on the newer trucks that are off road. What the hell? Is that Macks way of getting out of warranty? Or are these trucks strictly highway use?