Need advice on which trailer to use

I have been pulling pup trailers for over 40 years and love how they follow my tandem flatbed boom truck. We haul brick and stone with a 1987 Mack RD and an 1990 International Paystar 5000. Trucks empty are 30,000 and the pup weighs around 10,000. So we are 40,000 empty. Years ago we would go up to 60,000 but now we try to stay under 50,000. My main problem is now with my age and weight and the pup trailer so high that it is getting hard to tie down. My friend has a Eager Beaver 20 ton lowboy for sale the deck is 34 in off the ground vs my trailer which is almost 60 ins. His trailer is about 8,000 lbs. My trailer is 27 feet total with tongue his is 31 feet. Lighter but longer easier to back up but will not follow as well as my old 1971 Ravens. I do not see to many guys haul freight on lowboys but do not see why you could not. We only pull the pup about once a week to go to the brick plant or make a far off delivery. Local deliveries are made with just a straight truck. I also own a John Deere 310D backhoe which is mostly for personal use but it would be nice to have a way to move it. Also my pintle hitch is 34 in off the ground but I think his hook could be adjusted up or we fab it. I am going to start carrying a ladder with me but I do not want to fall so I fill the low deck would be safer. I am thinking wrong here. The wheel base on our trucks is 237 in so I am also going to be pretty long with that setup. Another issue would be tongue weight. With the pup trailer there is no weight on the tongue. Any thoughts on this setup? Thanks 

20190207_131814.jpg

Edited by lobo
add photo

Likewise, your health and safety are most important.