Wish me luck (not bad)

Underdog

Just when you think the book of your life has been written, a twist in the plot changes everything...

After 14 years running my own truck, following a bit of bad luck (and maybe a couple bad decisions), I have made one last business decision to park my trucks and drive somebody else's truck for a while, maybe permanently if all goes as promised. I have had a standing offer to go drive a 10-car auto transporter for a small local company. I have no car hauling experience, but the owner is willing to train me his way, and the promised pay & benefits are better than what I have seen in my best years as an owner-operator. I start this new chapter on Monday.

I plan on keeping a couple old Macks around just in case, if nothing more than to enjoy at my leisure as a hobby, and also that I may still qualify to participate on the BMT forums. Wish me luck.

Gregg

Gregg hauling cars like hauling livestock is all together different than driving a van or flatbed. Loading and unloading tieing down and delivering without damage.At different times my Family had 5 trucks hauling cars with Automobile Transport,Arco Auto Carriers,Kenosha Auto Carriers. Trailers or Stinger units today are much better than when we did it less ramp angles wider inside trailer.Wider trailers help believe me I cleaned a few sides when loading big cars in the 1970'S.I do not know how pay is today but back then it was set up on a one way haul and if you got backhaul it was the Bonanza. Good Luck.Joe D.

I've had several uncles that have hauled cars from the late 1940's till near present day. They have all had good, and bad times with it. Damage is the greatest concern as Joe mentioned but if you are not in a break neck hurry all the time things will go well.

Are you looking to haul new, used, high end, low end, wrecked, salvage? I made a lot of money hauling strictly salvage out of the Chicago Pool in years past.

I think the endeavor is prudent and wish you well.