Mack B Model Custom/Repower/Chassis Swap

Ok, so I don't have anything written in stone.....but I am looking to build a semi-custom vintage Mack.  B model seems to be the best overall size for me.  I would like to either engine swap a Model B with a Ford 7.3 and auto trans or a DT466 with an auto trans.  I really only need something with a single rear axle and a flat bed.  I would like a truck with A/C and power steering.  I have lots of fabrication experience and I have plenty of mechanical experience.  This would be a project for my auto shop, I am a high school shop teacher and my students are always looking to do a swap and build something cool.  This would seem to fit that bill.

My questions are:

Is it better to find a Mack cab and swap it onto a modern chassis?

Is there enough room in a B Model for either engine?

Has anyone done a swap like this?

What should I look for/look out for/avoid?

I also found a 1964 Mack B61, any idea what transmission would make it more highway friendly? 

Can someone remove an axle to make a single axle unit?

Any thoughts are appreciated!!!!!

• Like 1

what ever the out come; sure hope the BMT crew is kept updated. which way  is chosen by you/class would depend on available Resorces. take a dual wheel  pickup  swap Mack cab on to it might be easier for school tech group. to take a mack chassis and swap over could be challenging for class to operate on highway. much depends on the class abilities which is a question YOU could answer better then anyone. 

• Like 2

Mack did make a B-20  ; smaller cab . also it doesn't have to follow a pattern  being a B-model Mack. the A series or E series Mack aren't usually used, think out side the box and build different. E series dual wheel pick up having updated running gear (AC/ power steering ) with twin stacks. 

• Like 2