How to track down air leaks?

Dmurph2016

So I just had my new to meet truck dropped off. It’s a 03 elite cl700. It’s been sitting for 2 hours now. The airgage has dropped. The orange needle hasn’t moved but the green needle has dropped from 130 to halfway in the red. Also my drop axle has dropped. I am assuming these 2 things are related. Where would I start looking for air leaks? Im a total noob to this so I have to start somewhere. 

edit* so it also appears I have leaks behind the dash. I moved the hvac vent controls and now on whatever setting it is on I can hear air. 

Thanks 

image.jpg

Edited by Dmurph2016

There are actuators that are controlled by air that are behind the dash that move the flaps in the vent box. These are always prone to leakage. If I remember correctly the air cylinder is white. The other air leaks can be coming from anywhere.,from air fittings, lines, valves and the air springs. Best thing to do is fix the obvious leaks that you can hear and use a sprayer with soap and water and look for the less obvious leaks. This can be a time consuming problem. I would fix the audible air leaks and not worry about those very small ones. 

• Like 1

18 minutes ago, Vmac3 said:

There are actuators that are controlled by air that are behind the dash that move the flaps in the vent box. These are always prone to leakage. If I remember correctly the air cylinder is white. The other air leaks can be coming from anywhere.,from air fittings, lines, valves and the air springs. Best thing to do is fix the obvious leaks that you can hear and use a sprayer with soap and water and look for the less obvious leaks. This can be a time consuming problem. I would fix the audible air leaks and not worry about those very small ones. 

I am going to get soap and water and start looking, but figured it can’t hurt to ask if anyone has suggestions on where to start.