Yardo's pictures of however often he feels like posting them November 25, 2020 Version

1958 F.W.D.

58 minutes ago, hicrop10 said:

Fwd,we did some work many years ago up at the plant that Kovat’s(my spelling may be off)used to make the airport rescue tankers.We actually brought one of his tank for an r model we made in to a water truck.Your truck looks great would like to see the final product.Big bucks.

Kovatch (KME) up in Nesquohoning Pa? 

And yes the final tab is $1,072,000 & change. 

TWO STROKES ARE FOR GARDEN TOOLS

So with a 2000 gpm pump, and only a 500 gallon tank, that gives 'em about 15 seconds to get the truck hooked up to a water source before you're pumping air? Seems like a bigger tank would've been better...but then I'm just a truck driver with no experience on or around fire trucks. Not like you have to worry about DOT running you across the portables on your way to a fire...

• Like 1
When approaching a 4-way stop, the vehicle with the biggest tires has the right of way!

Really interesting to see. And those "custom built" or hand built cabs are surprize to me. Probably make sence with low production and expensive equipped units.

Many thanks for sharing that bra.

Никогда не бывает слишком много грузовиков! leversole 11.2012

On 11/26/2020 at 6:27 PM, Red Horse said:

Thx-very interesting.  About how many employees work in that plant.  Judging by all the trucks in the shot of the green F'liners, plant must have some serious sq.  footage.  So "Hendrickson" chassis for non-fire  use are still built?

I am not sure. They have several buildings all on the same block of a long street in Wyoming, Mi. next to Grand Rapids. There is a separate building just for paint, another building for constructing aerial ladders (and then assembling onto completed chassis) and they also have some other warehouses. And HME is also an Allison factory dealer- they do complete tear-down and rebuilds of all Allison products in a separate building.