New Engine Choices

Bullheaded

I know most members here are mostly in to old Mack's, but I was curious, if you had to buy a new truck which new emissions engine would you go with?

How does the new MP Mack compare to a Cummins as far as reliability?

I haven't had a Mack since 2000 (E7460), but as far as the last trucks I ran, when it comes to the choice between Cummins and Detroit DD, I prefer Detroit. Last one I had was a 2020 but now I work as an employee since I gave up trucking and I occasionally run our float truck which has an X15 Performance.

I prefer the way the Detroit's feel, run, pull and sound. Plus have had far fewer hard part failures with Detroit than Cummins. But the Cummins seems to have a bit better functioning emission system? At least I've experienced far fewer regen issues with Cummins ISX and X15's than Detroit DD's.

Just curious where we would rate the new Volvo Mack's? Since there never seems to be much talk about the new junk.

Edited by Bullheaded

I haven't heard much about newer Volvo/Macks either. I've heard some negative about getting some parts for them though. 

I've read and seen a lot of good about the new X15 in trucks and tractors alike. To me they just look like a 90s engine before all that emissions stuff got put on them. The free resources and information about them online with quick serve's what would make me pick them. Plus every large truck shops Cummins certified. Seems like a winner to me. 

• Like 1

I find the DD series Detroit feels the most like an old Cat. They have more low end torque than a Detroit and a more old school throttle feel (though the X15 is improved from the ISX)

Plus the Detroits don't sound like a gas engine with a bad case of spark knock.

• Like 1