Mack 9 speed to 18 speed

DieselDog5.9

Have a CV713 Granite, with an AI 400 that is finicky to drive, (working on the cure following the dead dog thread closely) however just need more gears.

Current Transmission is a Mack T309L/LL    great low speed reverse and low gear, short on gears in the high side, the rpm spread in the gears is to wide for the limited rpm range the Ai400 makes power in, and a mean shifting SOB.

Solution: picked up a transmission the owner states is and 18 speed, makes noise when on the low side.   This transmission is a T2180, not sure about any particulars, suchs as gearing and what not, my truck being an 03 would be a 300 series transmission, is this T2180 a bad choice? 

I have a lot of experience rebuilding Eaton Fuller transmissions, I have rebuilt the back box on a Mack 18 speed 300 series (318L/LL Maybe) and the parts are somewhat pricey for the HI/LO clutch pack from Mack.

Originally I was going to swap a Fuller 18 but thought going mack for mack would be less fabrication an coming up with parts.

Does someone have a chart with the ratios for both transmissions so I can compare.

They made a 2100 ft/lbs torque version IIRC, for the cummins and Cats that you could get, Odd to me you would get a Cummins engine and choose a Mack transmission but I guess. I thought that was the 2180B

It would appear they are the same front box, but the rear box makes the 9 vs 18.

I have 4:64 rears and with the 9 speed it is just right for a trailer, 70mph is out of the question, I think the 18 speed would give me a reverse with a high split.

I did a 6spd to 12 speed swap before, and they apparently had an off road version and an on road version well just my luck I put a highway trans in a dump truck, worked out better than the 6 speed but still would have liked the off road version. 12 speeds are hard to find.

That extra gear between 8th and 9th is really what I am after.

Edited by DieselDog5.9
Inaccurate gear ratio