T2080

Rufino V

Direct..low..neutral..reverse

low is a vey low gear, use in 1st only

direct is normal 1-5

AND you get 5 speeds in reverse

in some applications, the main has to be in gear to run PTO, etc...that is why you can use the Neutral

Success is only a stones throw away.................................................................for a Palestinian

7 minutes ago, Rufino V said:

Do you know any video where can I watch how to do the shifting, this is my first time driving a 1987 Mack truck

look at the shift diagram, if your going to use every gear,1st low, 2nd low, 3rd low, 1st hi, 2 hi, 3hi, 4th hi, and 5th hi, you can skip some gears in low range, but you almost always need them all in high range, this trans is always used with a 300 hp engine that is a low lugging engine.    terry:D

• 1 month later...

NO

On 2/5/2018 at 11:41 AM, j hancock said:

If you are running all the gears:  Start out 1L, 2L, 3L, then preselect "D", then 1D (fourth), 2D (fifth), 3D (sixth), etc...

Depending on conditions, you may not need to use one or more of the lower gears.

The shift pattern is below.

T2080B - Copy.jpg

• Like 1

Jim

It doesn't cost anything to pay attention.

4 hours ago, Rufino V said:

IS not like 1 L 1H 2L 2H 3L 3H 4L 4H 5L 5H ?

You do not the hi-lo like a splitter. If off road used proper low range gear, when on pavement put range in direct and shift the main 1-2-3-4-5 in that order.    terry:thumb:

13 hours ago, terry said:

You do not the hi-lo like a splitter. If off road used proper low range gear, when on pavement put range in direct and shift the main 1-2-3-4-5 in that order.    terry:thumb:

In the 2080 operation guide, Mack recommends not starting out higher than 3L (6.63).  The 5.24 ratio of 1H (fourth) is not practical to use for starting.

Jim

It doesn't cost anything to pay attention.

8 hours ago, j hancock said: