Splindle cleaning

Coenut

I'm not an expert but we use scotch brite pads to scuff up paint before respraying. Doesn't really do any damage to a painted surface, so I would of thought a metal surface would of been even less risk. 

Just my thoughts. 

• Like 1

If you mean you need to remove some caked on grease then pads or emery will work fine, but if you are trying to remove the ring cut into the seal surface than I don't think it will work. If the surface is cut you can either try to re-position the seal a little by not seating it as much or you can get a sleeve to slide over the hub that will provide a new sealing surface.

Money, sex, and fire; everybody thinks everyone else is getting more than they are!

Those are called "Speedi-Sleeves" for use when there is a wear groove into the sealing surface. Ensure you get the correct seal for this usage as there are times undersize seals for these. I use crocus cloth myself to clean up most sealing surfaces as it doesn't scratch other than in the micron range.

• Like 1

Dog.jpg.487f03da076af0150d2376dbd16843ed.jpgPlodding along with no job nor practical application for my existence, but still trying to fix what's broke.

There was a wear grove in the ring so I removed the ring.  I don't have the tool to place that ring precisely back on so I went with a non grit guard seal.  I have all hubs off to check the bearings and races so I figured I may as well clean everything up and replace the seals.  The surfaces just need a touch up.

2 minutes ago, Coenut said:

There was a wear grove in the ring so I removed the ring.  I don't have the tool to place that ring precisely back on so I went with a non grit guard seal.  I have all hubs off to check the bearings and races so I figured I may as well clean everything up and replace the seals.  The surfaces just need a touch up.