Cdl, Is It Really Necessary?

ThaddeusW

Recently I tried to get my CDL but failed the eye exam. Now I have a cataract in my right eye so I need eye correction but only surgery will help, not glasses. I gave it some thought and really there is no need for the CDL except maybe a written test and an endorsement, not a whole different license with a road test. Reading through the manual made me laugh because 90% of it is common sense. The hazmat section is the only section that I really read and learned from.

The doubles triples section is the biggest joke. The whole endorsement is based on two things: two or more trailers make you more unstable and how to couple a lead trailer to a pup trailer (no road test necessary). Wow I am an expert now, show me to the nearest set of turnpike doubles!

And another thing is this; here in NY if the truck is under 26k gvw and has no air brakes, you don’t need a CDL. Many truck rental companies offer 26 foot non CDL trucks that are exactly the same length/height/weight as a CDL truck. Why is the CDL needed again? In some states on vehicles with air brakes below 26k gvw don’t even need a CDL to be driven. And the hydraulic brakes that come on most trucks always seem inadequate, ever try to quickly stop a loaded truck with hydraulic brakes? I guess the extra weight must make people forget how to drive.

Maybe my rant is out of anger but allot drivers that were driving well before the CDL think it is a joke too. I have driven CDL trucks before with no problems and learned in a few minutes. A friend of mine worked for a landscaping company drove their dump truck with a tag trailer for 2 years before he got his CDL. What do you guys think?

-Thad

What America needs is less bull and more Bulldog!