Loud cracking/snapping sound coming from 85 R model trunnion

Jhitch

Question

Hi all. I’m new to the site and I’m looking for some help figuring out an issue with my 1985 R Model Mack Truck.    I Purchased the truck a year ago and have been working on it.   I only use it sparingly because it is pretty much my baby. I’ve been getting some snapping and popping noises when I’m driving it.   I am no mechanic but it seems like a lubrication issue. I’ve tried all I know how to do to get it lubricated.   I’ve tried greasing it when it was loaded. I’ve tried jacking the truck up and greasing it.  I also took the cap off and cleaned out the old grease and put two new trunnion end caps on.   I believe the other ones were damaged and allowing moisture in.   I don’t believe the bushings are bad.   The trucks sat for a long time and I don’t believe it was greased properly. I’ve tried all I know how to do and the problem is still not fixed. Has anyone experienced something similar to this?  Any suggestions are welcome. Thanks in advance for your time. 

Edited by Jhitch

16 answers to this question

Sounds like a rotating origination to me. Could be a "spalled" wheel bearing. Do you have the noise without a trailer? Have you jacked the truck up getting both drive axles off the ground and ran the truck? This I would suggest and if the noise still persists without the tires being on the ground, let them rotate and find where the noise is originating from while they are rotating. You may have to remove one set of tires at a time to drill down to the culprit but it could be something simple like rust buildup inside a drum. That truck being an 85 probably has outboard brake drums so really easy to check. 

Dog.jpg.487f03da076af0150d2376dbd16843ed.jpgPlodding along with no job nor practical application for my existence, but still trying to fix what's broke.

1 hour ago, h67st said:

What are the peanuts?