Looking to buy B-42

hard to put a price on something without pics,could be anywhere from $1000 to $15000.If the engine is original,gas stuff is getting hard to come by,but not impossible,sheet metal is common with most of the B models,the real nice stuff is getting scarce,but if you can weld and do bodywork,theres lots of decent stuff still around. A lot of the little stuff you can get new thru Watt's Mack.

It all seems original. I'm no expert by any means, but it's a flathead inline 6 and a duplex trans. Most of the sheet metal is solid except for the cab floor needs a patch or two. The glass is pretty rough though and the driver door window track is bent.the door itself is perfect though. The truck was drivable until it was parked a few years ago. It is complete, nothing obvious missing. Is it worth fixing the gas motor or would it be better to put something like a 237 in it?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Edited by flynlow8740

Using Tapatalk

without seeing pics,$1500 to $2500 based on your description. As for the engine,if it is just going to be a hobby truck,fix it,if you going to use it everyday,forget it and find a diesel,you'll get a lot of time & $ wrapped up in a swap,when you could find a running diesel for close to the same money.

I always thought the 401 and 402 were Mack's own design,others have said they too are Continental's so I can't answer that with facts.

fxfymn must have miss read your first post. As far as I know the EN401/402 in the B42 is a Mack made Maxidyne engine. Some of the smaller trucks had continental made engines. There are not too many people running the gas jobs anymore, but there were a lot made and parts are still out there. I have 4 B42s and one B422, but the B422 has an overhead in it. I would keep the flat head gas for originality, but again it becomes a personal and economic decision. A non running, solid B42 is worth $1500-3500 in my opinion. They used to be $500-800 but are getting more scarce. Good luck. Mike