Cross Bronx 'Spressway Dangers

other dog

I actually saw something like that firsthand once,years ago,when i was an hourly driver for Atlas,i was going to Conn. with a delivery,i saw 2 women in a new (at the time) Corvette in the line for the tollbooth at the GWB,they were next to me,and the car was overheating. I saw them in the mirror pull over just north of the bridge,i assume to see what was wrong. later that day when i came back,the burned out,stripped (and i mean stripped!) hulk of the car was being towed away! all in broad daylight,in the span of about 4 hours! never understood how all that could go un-noticed in the middle of the day,don't see near as many abandoned/stripped cars on the Cross-Bronx as i used too...............................Mark

Mack Truck literate. Computer illiterate.

They had that on 60 minutes a couple years ago. the cops would just watch because 2 guys against 6 or7 wouldn't work out to good. they video taped the whole ting of the little crane popping out of the van and taking the motor while everything else was stolen. Thats probably the longest 20 mile stretch of highway there is.

Matt

My wife used to use that stretch all the time to get to Conn. I tried for years to get her to use the Throgs Neck and go up that way but she's one of those women who used to be afraid to try new directions. I always made sure she had the phone number to a buddy's firehouse- Rescue 3, located at 176th & Park....Told her if she ever broke down the FIRST phone call was to the firehouse, THEN to me.

Now she'll go anywhere with a GPS unit and takes the throgs neck.

TWO STROKES ARE FOR GARDEN TOOLS