1951 Mack A-40 Engine ID

Go to solution Solved by steve s.,

Hi All. I am brand new to the sight. I am working on a 1951 A-40 Concrete Mixer. It has a Smith mixer on it. I am trying to figure out what the engine is. I am having trouble locating anything on it. The engine is a Maxydyne inline 6 Gasoline engine. The number, I think is on the front right (passenger side) corner on the block. The Number is E 1(or capital I) 377 43 65. I set the points at .020 and it started up. It hasn't ran in several years. It needs a new fuel pump. This truck was  restored in the early 90's. It was used in parades. When I get it up and running. And, cleaned up. So, I can get it outside for some pictures. I will post them for ya. Any help would be appreciated.  Thanks 

• 2 weeks later...

Hi all. Just an update here. I was able to read the engine number better after we got it out of the shed it was stored in. The number on the block is actually EN 377 43 65. I still cannot find anything on this. But, While driving it back to our shop. I drove it in direct. 1st and 2nd worked well witth plenty of power. When I put it in 3rd (direct), it ran good for awhile. Then it started running very rough. If I shifted down it would clear up and run fine. Almost like the governor isn't working under power. If I can figure this engine out, I can figure the governor out too. Thanks   Pat

Oops sorry this one slipped through the cracks. I'd love to see some pictures of the truck and engine! There isn't all that much info out there about Mack gassers. Is it a flathead of overhead valve? 

• Solution