I have no experience with any v8 Mack. But I know guys who do, and I don't think it was as good as the mechanical ones. 

Ive seen a fair few Titans that have been repowered with cats or Cummins.

nothing wrong with 610's as long as the power tower is set up right as they have a lot load on them compared to a 500,and do a full bearing roll and oilpump relief spring around 350 thousand if used on triple road train work [that comes from a fella in the isa who has been running 610's from the outset ]

• Like 1

from what I have heard over the years there was plans for more power from the E9 than this I dunno if these electronic ones sound as good as the mechanical but when your camped on the side of the road on a still night you can hear a E9 on a road train from half a hour or more away thumping out into the still night air and what a sound makes a Harley Davidson sound like a posty Honda LOL

Paul

postie_bike_-_old.jpg

almost feels like a crime putting that in a post about E9's  

• 3 weeks later...

Not entirely correct outback. An electronic v8 was released in the Renault magnum as the ee9 560. They were euro two or three I think and were available to about 2000 ,2001. Either way they were meeting euro emissions when Volvo stopped production. I have always been of the understanding Europe leads the emissions race but I stand to be corrected. I have also read on this forum that mack had a complient e9 with unit pump tech that would meet the next level. Ks carbel would be the man to ask on this forum.

There was a North American electronic V8 built and tested  but never put into production due to 1998 emissions issues for North America.

Mack originally planned to release the first version in a 530hp rating  (if I'm not mistaken) The last of the North American E9's were installed in early '99.