b 61 on r model chassis?

Go to solution Solved by diggin dirt,

I have a small backhoe service out here in nw okla. my dream dump truck would be a b61 cab on a 6 speed 285 hp r model chassis. has anybody out there done this conversion or know where i could find one? Must be a tandem axle and handle a 12 to 13 foot long rock bed. please bear with me as i dont get on the computer too often. Thank You

I'm no expert but I'm nearly positive that Mack sold B to R conversions back in the late '60s and '70s that would become BCR's (B converted R)

That's obviously the oppisite of what you're looking for. I believe that one issue you will run into is the width of the R model front axle compared to the B model body and fenders.

Ed Smith

1957 B85F 1242 "The General Ike"

the early R models used B model front axles, same width. after that they went about 2'' wider. that Stine truck is on an older R chassis I believe to, you can see how the wheels stick out past the fenders. it can be done, the steering column might have to be used from the R model, but I have seen that done also

post-6-0-64947600-1408238925_thumb.jpg

"Any Society that would give up a little LIBERTY to gain a little SECURITY will Deserve Neither and LOSE BOTH" -Benjamin Franklin

"If your gonna be STUPID, you gotta be TOUGH"

"You cant always get what you want, but if you try sometimes you get what you need"

• Solution

There had been a 1966 B53 with 44k rears that was for sale out in Orgeon with a 237 and a 6 speed. Was in very good shape for 1500 and he had some jakes to throw in on the deal. Its not on CL as of now but I sitll have his contact if you want to see if it is still up for a good home

its a long ways from home but i would like to check it out, you never know. thank you