Please Recommend A Transmission

mackattack2

hi,

This is a 4-part complex question with I hope simple answers. First, I admit that I don't have much experience with heavy trucks. Growing up in Los Angeles all my friends have sports cars and I'm the only one who ever seemed to like trucks. I know for many people their truck is their main tool for making a living. This post is to people who actually drive these trucks and work on these trucks that I direct my questions.

First, some background. I'm an accomplished shade-tree mechanic restoring old GM light and medium trucks (but never diesel) as a life-time hobby. Recently I've acquired a sedan model L pumper firetruck. On the advice of those here I've decided to change the engine from the old 707 gaser that's froze-up to a 237 diesel. And I've decided to go from the 5 speed direct-drive to a 6 speed over-drive trans. Now this is where my questions come in. In my research into these types of transmissions I bought a Feb 1983 6-speed trans Mack service manual. But I was very surprised by what I found in it. It's publication 10-TRXL1070-100.5 and covers 6-speed transmissions TRXL1070, TRXL10710, TRXL1070A, and TRXL10710A transmissions. The first thing I noticed is that these transmissions have no syncroes. GM has been putting gear syncroes in their truck transmissions ever since the mid 1940's.

-A- Does that mean even these newer 1980's transmissions (and all 6-speed Mack trans) must be double-clutched every time they are shifted?

-B- Or do all heavy truck transmissions not use syncroes? Must they all be double-clutched? This is where I depend on your heavy truck experience. And please explain proper heavy-truck shifting technique to me.