1950s LS 85 Fire Truck Price?

Loadstar

Hi, New to this site........I'm a firefighter in southern Mass. I came across a 50s Mack LS-85 For sale. The truck is registered and running and supposedly in good condition. Wondering what you guys think a good price would be ? I know it's hard without seeing it but just looking for a ballpark figure? I figured it would be something cool to enjoy with my sons. Any suggestion would be appreciated......Thanks

The price of any rig really depends on rarity and condition. Semi-open cab LS-85's are not all that rare, so the price is driven primarily by condition for this truck. The only way to determine condition is to look at it in person, drive it, pump it, and check out what tools and accesories are on it.

If it is rust free, runs and pumps well with good oil pressure and doesn't overheat, good overall paint, has good real gold leaf, bell, red lights, siren, small tools all in place and working would place it at an 7 to a 8 out of 10. New paint with real gold leaf and all other conditions as the first example would make it a 8 to 9 out of 10. The 10 is total restoration, which means every nut and bolt is turned and every component is brought back to factory fresh.

A 7 to 8 should bring 6 to 10K. An 8 to 9 should bring 8 to 12k tops. A total restoration will cost the owner upwards of 100k and would sell in the 20k to who knows range.

A friend recently bought an LS85 that had fifty year old paint, was missing the bell, ran great, and has a solid body. He paid 4k for it.

In the end any truck sells for what the buyer is willing to pay. Buying is almost always an emotional decision based on how much you love the truck. As long as you realize that you will not make money on the purchase and you view it as you would a boat purchase for example you should buy it if the price seems reasonable to you despite what any of us tells you.