oil pressure se

when I unplug the oil sensor on top of the filter shouldn't the shut down light come on  or shut the truck off

sorry 2000 rd688 e7 400

my shut down ligh. comes on randomly and shuts down sometimes not all 

but fires right back up

I've changed water level sensor

water is full

oil is full 

I could really use some help 

I haul asphalt for a living and I'm afraid it might shut down not start back up 

thanks 

We had trouble with the 2000 CH  613 E7 460 same problem shutting down until it got worse and was difficult to get started again I had to replace the engine wiring harness  and both oil pressure sensors after checking the 2 big connections at the ECM there was oil there it was being pushed through the wiring harness until it started shutting down injectors

• Like 1
  • Like 1

Sounds like its an intermittent problem.  To answer your question, no. The ECM sees an electrical fault (open circuit). Try leaving it unplugged and see if the shutdown light turns on. Is the malfunction indicator light on? Coolant temp will cause it to shutdown as well. There should be 2 sensors at the rear of the water manifold. The one sensor at the very back of the water manifold is the coolant temp sensor. Unplug it and see if the trucks shuts down.

Hope this helps

• Like 1

35 minutes ago, D-Day said:

We had trouble with the 2000 CH  613 E7 460 same problem shutting down until it got worse and was difficult to get started again I had to replace the engine wiring harness  and both oil pressure sensors after checking the 2 big connections at the ECM there was oil there it was being pushed through the wiring harness until it started shutting down injectors