Reversing relay info for Jojo

85snowdog

In a thread a while back you asked about the reversing relay in a superliner you were working on. Rather than sidetrack that thread I wanted to try to help. You may have already sorted what you need . If you did, no problem , this may help others . 

I want to start by saying I'm no expert and most on here know way more than I will ever know. Any info I know came from BMT. It's great. 

I have found through trial and error that the relay valve changes the trucks performance a lot . 

There has been a lot of threads about them in the past . This one is useful , https://www.bigmacktrucks.com/topic/47110-puff-limiter/#comment-347471

Theres different relays for different motors .  They all have a part # that ends with a number followed by an "X"   like "5X" . That number is stamped on the end of the relay valve. The smaller the number the higher the rpm before it fuels . That's to keep the smoke to a minimum . A 5x or 6x will fuel at a lower rpm similar to a good ole 237. I think 237 came with a 5x from factory , but not 100% sure.They go as high as "10x" I think? The 350 your working on would have a 3x I think ? There is a "CX" too. I have tried it on every truck  and decided the best spot for it is on the shelf. Truck has to be at 1700 or so before it kicks in.

I put a 6 x on my 350 4V . It worked really good but smoked more than I liked. I didn't want any trouble from the smoke police, lol .

So my solution was an electric solenoid in the supply line to the relay. I run a 3x. My truck works great and I'm not afraid of a cop behind me, and when I want to have fun or some bottom end power, I flick a switch on the dash. I love it. A lot of the guys used air valves to do the same thing. 

Remember that the relay is only half of it. The number of shims in the rack limiting cylinder on the pump is very important to. Theres info on that in the link provided.