Free V-MAC III Software

Ah, after doing some readings I've come across some DIY methods with creating your own J1708/J1587 interface and displaying the data. I know most are in the few thousands of dollars. I found this super helpful blog someone made back in 2014 that I think is incredible information. Thankfully i understand most of this as im an engineer by trade, I will give this a shot! The blogger used this to interface with his motor home, but it should not be any different for our Macks on J1587.

The VMAC III User manual has a table how to access the data from the ECU, Hopefully I can pull a few IDs and display the relevent data I am looking for.

http://j1587scanner.blogspot.com/2014/08/how-to-build-j1587-data-scanner-for.html

Edited by ivanuke

2 minutes ago, Mack Technician said:

It seems like a lot of work to get basic “read only” information? Be curious to see if you could navigate deep enough to do something interactive.....perimeter adjustment. 

You definetly can, I made a comment on an old EGR delete thread. *ahem*

13 hours ago, Mack Technician said:

Sounds like you need to start a how-to thread for the benefit of Mack posterity. 

In the blog post there is reference to a chip called the ELM325. It has a 31 page data sheet that goes into detail on how to use the chip. It even goes on to explain how to “simulate” the chip as an ECU to send data. The ELM is a serial communication chip that can talk to the J1708/J1587 bus on our ECUs. Using an arduino microcontroller and some serial write commands you can “clone” messages to be sent to the vehicle ECU via the ELM325 lets say in the event you “lost” your EGR ECU. 

to write a how to would be way too in depth, but With that information and some good ole google searches should help people be on their way to manipulating values. I’d be happy to answer any questions if people pm me directly.

35 minutes ago, Deere Mack said: