New Tires

95k1500

I am no expert on truck tires, most of my mechanical experience is with light vehicles, but I assume there must be some differences with rubber compounds used. Some softer and some harder? One of the fire engines at the fire department I work at, got a new set of rear tires (Michelens), I don't recall what brand of tire was on the the truck before. Anywho, the engine used to be a joy to drive, seemed solid and gripped the road. Ever since the new hoops, the truck is a real turd! Feels like a wet noodle. The slightest lane change and the thinks feels like shes going to roll! Need nerves of steel to drive it. I suppose now that they are on there, we will have to live with them, even thought everyone that drives it is bitching.

Dave

I had (...well, have) the same problem when I got 8 new drive tires put on my truck last year. When I bought the truck it had a mis-matched set of about 6 different brands of tires on it, but went down the road like a dream. After the 8 new tires were put on the handling is a bit wishy-washy and I've been blessed with an intermittent 'hop'. While I'll admit, the tires I bought weren't the highest priced/quality tires on the market, but still they were a matched set of new tires. Due to the nature of the work I do...construction work...a lot of stopping/starting and turning and off-road...I'm not going to grind off a set of $400+ tires in 50,000 miles.

I'm sure a lot of it has to do with new rubber being more flexible...and more tread enabling the tire to feel as if it 'rolls'. As my tires wear down that feeling has more or less gone away.

Ever wonder how a blind person knows when to stop wiping?

gallery_1977_876_21691.jpg