Army heavy hauler

Those things are like 58k how it sits. Forgot the hp range but thinking I was told around 800hp. 5 speed auto maybe a 6 speed.

The HET in the photos are early US DOD spec, 500 hp DDC 8V-92TTA, with a Allison 6 speed CLT-754

The current production (both US DOD & UK-HET) have the 750 hp Cat C-18. These are easy so spot with the longer & rounded hood.

Rick

Richard Mark

Owner / Master Model Maker

Industrial Model Design
Ap40rocktruck

Got to drive one of these when I was a Firefighter at Aberdeen Proving Ground. Oshkosh had a field office there for their people who were assigned to APG TECOM (test and evaluation command) and being into trucks naturally I got friendly with the guys there. Let me take one of these around the test course for a couple of laps- WOW. Can't see a damn thing from them, but who cares, if you hit someone or something you aren't going to feel it.........

• Like 1

TWO STROKES ARE FOR GARDEN TOOLS

Got to drive one of these when I was a Firefighter at Aberdeen Proving Ground. Oshkosh had a field office there for their people who were assigned to APG TECOM (test and evaluation command) and being into trucks naturally I got friendly with the guys there. Let me take one of these around the test course for a couple of laps- WOW. Can't see a damn thing from them, but who cares, if you hit someone or something you aren't going to feel it.........

Made me laugh over this one :clap: Thanks!

My last combat tour was with a HET company, we had alot of problems with them the computers could not take the heat and they would run with a crap load of faults and in limp mode as with most things nowadays they make them overly complicated and in combat enviroment if it was a mechanical engine it would have been so much better.