2000 Mack 689s unknown metal rings in oil & broken rocker bent

Good morning all,

I’m new to this site and this is my first post I am a mobile heavy equipment mechanic and welder I’m happy to have the opportunity to share this with y’all and hopefully someone here has seen something like this before… so here’s what’s going on first of it’s a

2000 Mack RD690S
Vin 1M2P264CXYM030963

197,000 miles 

So this truck is one of many I do service work on during an oil change about 4 weeks ago on the plug magnet I got a few small round pieces of metal only way I can think to describe them is if you took the spring from a pen and cut it into a bunch of small metal rings I’ll attach pictures below… I notified the company of my findings and they continued to run the truck there mechanic told me it was running rough and he adjusted one of the rockers a little tighter which cleared it up it went another week or so and developed a rough idle again to which there mechanic again tightened down the same rocker more, now to me this would go to say that the cam is being eaten up. The truck again went back on the road and this time came back with a bent push rod and a broken rocker on the number 3 cylinder I will attach pictures below in order being 1 the metal components found on the magnet, bent pushrod and broken rocker / broken rocker pieces, contents of oil pan after pan dropped and cleaned out, and lastly a not so good picture of a cam lobe with a chip missing. I hope someone here has seen this before and can help me figure out what these pieces in the oil are, also would you guys throw on a reman head, cam shaft and new push rods or replace rockers on the current head in place and replace cam and push rods, I’m also concerned to do all the work with this mystery part still possibly breaking down and dumping these rings in to the engine possibly to just cause the same issue again.

Thank you all in advance for you help I look forward to chatting with you all soon.

-Chris