E7 inframe questions

John3406

Have a couple questions for you guys. Working on a inframe on a e7 350 mechanical. Do you guys recommend replacing head bolts and rod bolts? Also the cam looks good no flaking etc. What are your thoughts on replacing the cam? Im kind of new to mack motors but rebuilt plenty of deere, cat and cummins. Thanks 

On Wed Jan 06 2021 at 1:51 PM, fjh said:

In my opinion!No to the bolts if the cam looks good leave it ! Pay close attention to liner height try to achieve 25 or better up to 28 thou!

I must have the wrong book because it says liner height at 10 to 12. It also doesn't tell me the torque for the side bolts on the mains

The buttress bolts are 90 ft/lb  make sure the long bolts go on the right side of the engine on bearings 2&3 by the aux drive your mains are 210 ft/lb, and Fjh is correct with the height they can be .022-.027 under the same head as long as they are in that spec range 

2 minutes ago, MACKX said:

The buttress bolts are 90 ft/lb  make sure the long bolts go on the right side of the engine on bearings 2&3 by the aux drive your mains are 210 ft/lb, and Fjh is correct with the height they can be .022-.027 under the same head as long as they are in that spec range 

I appreciate the info. And my book does say 22 to 27 on liner height. I misread it when i scanned it quick. Im assuming you check the liner height and get them right then put them back in with the seal? Correct me if im wrong on that.

Yes, check height then when you reinstall , put the seal on the liner with Mack RTV at the liner seat  , I use Mack grey nothing else , other guys may have another RTV that works for them , I just use the Mack RTV

9 hours ago, John3406 said:

I appreciate the info. And my book does say 22 to 27 on liner height. I misread it when i scanned it quick. Im assuming you check the liner height and get them right then put them back in with the seal? Correct me if im wrong on that.