ENF-330 front main seal leak

Pacifica Pete

Hi all,

I'm fixing up a 1949 type 45 fire engine for my fire department. in general it runs OK, but it is needing some tune-up type work and some love in general. It is equipped with an ENF-330 engine (according to the original sales literature which I have :) ). It has what I believe to be a moderate front main seal leak judging from the the area of the oil leak, and the mountain of silicone applied to the area by a previous caretaker. I have no experience working on this motor specifically, but I do have a fair amount of automotive and engine work experience in general. Does anyone know how difficult a job replacing the seal is, and can it be done in the truck? Where can I find good documentation on maintenance procedures for this motor? I do understand that the condition of the crankshaft comes into play here, I'm just toying with the idea of tearing into it and would love to hear about other folks' experience. 

IMG_6926.JPG

IMG_6932.JPG

I would clean the entire area off and see exactly where the leak(s) are.  The front seal, the lip seal/gasket on the pan front are the main suspects. Clean it off an see.  

The mass of silicon leads me to think it may have been the "idea" to fix the deteriorated cork pan gasket to timing cover leak.

Edited by 41chevy

"OPERTUNITY IS MISSED BY MOST PEOPLE BECAUSE IT IS DRESSED IN OVERALLS AND LOOKS LIKE WORK"  Thomas Edison

“Life’s journey is not to arrive at the grave safely, in a well preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways, totally worn out, shouting ‘Holy shit, what a ride!’

P.T.CHESHIRE

If you want the maintenance manuals I’d submit the VIN# to the Mack Museum, they’ll give you all the information they have on the truck. That info has certainly helped us as we finish up our 707 motor, it had to be torn down to the block with many parts being rebuilt or replaced.

Who needs a back yard when you could have a :mack1: Yard?!