Generator to alternator

Good afternoon,

Is it worth it to switch from a generator to an alternator on a 1962 B-61? If so, what's a good alternator that can replace my current generator? I have limited knowledge about electrical systems. I have read that Mack used a positive ground? Can someone explain what that means and what's involved with converting to a standard ground? Thanks!

A one wire alternator  works . A good starter, generator, alternator repair shop will give you the size once they know the battery size and what you are doing . Just switch the wires on the fuel gauge, amp or battery gauge, and heater fan switch . I used my old generator bracket and some all thread to get the correct alignment on the belts . If your old generator works and you are concerned a good shop can rebuild it . Most older system are pos. ground which means the battery is grounded to the frame on the + side of the battery. Negative ground the -  side of the battery is connected to the frame.

Edited by eddeere
add more
  • Like 1

An alternator is definitely more reliable; if you go to a one-wire unit like eddeere says, you can eliminate your voltage regulator...lots of people do that on older cars & trucks. Your lights work the same whether positive or negative; you don't have to change anything on those. If your truck has a series/parallel switch, I don't know what has to be done to change to negative ground.

Edited by h67st
Forgot to add something

Just had to replace the one wire alt on my truck after 15 yrs(it was starting to not charge all the time).  Kinda pricey, but is 160 amp version.  More power then I need for a all mechanical truck.  I'm thinking like $200?  Have to dig up receipt to confirm.  I got it at local starter shop.