Two sticks in older Macks

tippatone

First let me start by stating I am a rookie driver so I'm brand new to most of this stuff....in the older RD models I noticed two gear sticks....can one of you veterans please explain what the hell this is about....I almost crapped my pants...very intimidating....

yep. Simple transmission. In low you only use first gear then you shift up to the high side and go through the rest of the gears.

Thanks a lot that clear things up a great deal...how you like the RD??? I was in love with the Granite...but fell in love with the RD....

RD is a tough old truck and will do great with anything you throw at it. It's just loud and has a little rough of a ride.

In my opinion the R model was one of the best if not the best mack ever built.

I have fond memories of the older RDs like late 80s early 90s...I'm from NYC so we have these oil tankers delivering oil to heat our buildings...we used to have a company Castle...That delivery man was a hero to me...the way he unloaded that oil and drove that tanker....awesome

The two sticks were fun to drive.

To start off the line I used to make sure the compound was in neutral, put the main box in first and then you could put the compound in low and hit the throttle. Up shift and down shift without ever using the clutch.

It used to freak people out when I ran through the gears in reverse.

• Like 1

The two sticks were fun to drive.

To start off the line I used to make sure the compound was in neutral, put the main box in first and then you could put the compound in low and hit the throttle. Up shift and down shift without ever using the clutch.

It used to freak people out when I ran through the gears in reverse.

Hmmm....interesting. So you can go in reverse in 3rd gear?