What are your thoughts on ballrace turntables vs teflon 5th wheels?

Gorilla

Hi Everyone,

I am relatively new to the truck ownership game and need some advice.

Specifically i found the truck i purchased had a ballrace turntable which was locked into place for many years (which i have read is bad for a ballrace turntable).  It was seized in place and spent quite a few hours with wd40, high pressure washer and degreaser (and repeat with obviously wd40 at the end), i got it unseized.

Thing is its now really "crunchy" while turning to safe to say the bearings are not in the best of shape and ultimately not servicable.

Question i have is what are your thoughts on replacing the ball race or replacing the 5th wheel for one that has a teflon plate?

Essentially i know their goal is the same of making the trailer connection to be easier to turn and put less stress on the components.

Which way should i go and why?

Thank you in advance,

Chris

37 minutes ago, mrsmackpaul said:

Should be able to just replace the ball race easy enough

Ball race are by far the most common type in Australia, simple, safer and far more stable than a grease plate type

Paul

Hi Paul,

Thanks for the input and im leaning that way but my understanding is that the ball race type needs to be hooked up to a trailer that has the wedge behind the pin, and as i will be towing another companies trailers im pretty sure they dont have the wedge.  So without the wedge ive read you hack to lock the ball race turntable into position so it doesnt move in which case it behaves like a normal fixed turntable which 1. negates having a ball race turntable and 2. is not a good idea s this is not good for the ball bearings.

Of course if i had my own trailer i would make sure i have the wedge as it makes sense but alas here we are.

Chris

1 hour ago, JoeH said: