235 Swap

Full Floater

Will be swapping a good running ENDT 675 235hp from a truck with a bad body, into another chassis that's already equipped with a 235, but is worn out.  Both are 107 6 speed trucks.

The donor engine runs like a top, but I would like to re-seal or service anything that should get done when the engine is out of the truck.   Rear main, oil pan etc. Im new to swapping these engines, can anyone give me a quick "list" of things I should look at while the engine is out and easily serviced?  It will be getting a new clutch while it's out, jacobs 675 jake heads (overhead adj obviously) and fresh injectors, hoses etc.

what you do to it would depend largely on ;; how did it run, sound before removal from chassis. new clutch is being installed. mileage on it , blow-by are factors. other then clutch,rear seal  anything else can be done in chassis. runs like a top , shouldn't need internals. a coat of paint would be only item done easier out of frame . LOL

IMO,  without ever doing a swap like yours....   Shouldnt you just take everything off, clean/buff it and reseal it?  even if you have to cut your own gaskets..  I am probably stating some obvious stuff,  but it is what I do...  I have had a few older units apart recently, and I do just that...  remove all covers, used and un-used, and make gaskets..  A great RTV can be your friend..  Mack Gray for example..  jojo

• Like 1