Oliver HG42 - Charging 8 volt battery

markpwhit

Looking for some help. Just acquired a 1942 Oliver HG42 crawler and drained the battery trying to get it started. I know the tractor is a 6 volt system - but the battery that came with it (brand new) is an 8 volt.

How do you go about safely charging a 8 volt. My charger is rated for either 6 or 12. Any help would be greatly appreciated

Based on my little knowledge of 8V batteries....my thought is you need an 8V charger. The 12V will overcharge and the 6V will undercharge. I have no experience with 8V batteries. Do you have a 6V battery that you can install?

Disclaimer...you can try using the 6V setting but be VERY VERY careful.

Ken

PRR Country and Charter member of the "Mack Pack"

Use a volt meter to check what the actual output of your charger is. Mine on 6 high will charge an 8 just fine. As long as it puts out more than 8v but less than 10 i would use it. I watched guys at a truck auction jump start with 24v because it starts em faster( i think man i don't know what them computers can handle but i would not want to find out). Anyway, i wonder if your voltage regulator is adjusted for six or eight. Perhaps you could rig up something to spin your generator if you don't wish to use your charger.

I use a 12 volt battery in my HG 68 and it is supposed to have a 6 volt. It spins the starter a lot faster. It doesn't have any light bulbs to worry about so no big deal. My father had me get an 8 volt battery for my 1953 Chevy 4100, but I didn't use it much and it died. I charged it with a 6 volt charger with no trouble before its eventual death. If you look at the voltimeter on a 12 volt truck when the battery is charging it will often be at 13 or 14. My father's Brockway 758 won't start unless it says at least 13 volts. 12 won't do it. I have always been told not to jump a 6 volt vehicle with a 12 volt because it will mess up the 12 volt. I do not know why though. I have never tried it. Mike