How are the MP8 motors?

What major problems are there with the new MP8 motors with DEF?

Any ideas of what the best HP would be for good pulling power on hills and good fuel mileage?

Gonna get the Allison auto and half the year pulling a shorty dump at 73,280 and the other half pulling a tank or a long dump at 80,000.

I'm a tech for a oil field fleet, of water haulers. We have about 10 mo8 engines and they have all been great. One set of cups went bad on a 2011 (that truck was rolled has been problems ever seance) other then that the MPs have been awesome. sensor failed here and there and a couple def pumps.

• Like 2

Under Dog, what was your motor originally set at and how did you set it to 450? I was thinking about the 445 cause I don't think you can get the Allison with the 505. I know some guys that have the Allison and love them. I do a lot of stop and go in traffic for half the year and think the Allison would be great. The auto shift doesn't work good for the construction stuff I do. That's why they don't offer the M Drive in the Granite.

Nothing inherit that are problems. Some things here and there and truely overal are good. The cups problems have been fixed for the most part with the brand new ones. There have been a couple updates even after the stainless cups came out si if ut has the latest dobe it should br good. Trust me keep it at dealer and it will save u time and money no offense to anyone but chasing codes without the proper info leads to problems. Seen lots of money or parts thrown at stuff when it just needs programmed.

• Like 1