5 speed

Hey can someone tell me what the speeds per gear are for a 5 speed and the suggested rpms to shift it. Also, I am brand new to this trucking world. Still working my way in. This may be a totally stupid question. I just trained on a international dump. Is an 8 speed fuller an 8 speed fuller regardless ?

With 4.17 rears .....1st and 2nd are slow ...3rd about 27 mph.4th about 40 In 5 th you max out at 62 mph at 2100 rpm. This is aprox numbers. you have to use the whole rpm range of the engine...rev it out and shift at 2000-2100 and it will fall back to 1200-1300 rpm when you grab the next higher gear. The 5 speed has wide splits but is easy to drive with limited shifts needed..

• Like 1

Sometimes the 800 rpm drop feels a little strange. I have an Mack X107A 6 speed, but on the road you drive it like a 5 speed. It has to go down to 40-42 mph before you can downshift to 4th.

If you don't, then it will be above red line after the shift and that will be not a good thing.

If you have been doing your training on an 8LL Fuller you will be in pretty good shape because that trans is very popular and the typical spec for vocational type truck use these days.

Jim

Jim

It doesn't cost anything to pay attention.

Hey can someone tell me what the speeds per gear are for a 5 speed and the suggested rpms to shift it. Also, I am brand new to this trucking world. Still working my way in. This may be a totally stupid question. I just trained on a international dump. Is an 8 speed fuller an 8 speed fuller regardless ?