Can 237/285 engines last another 10yrs?

Go to solution Solved by JoeH,

Hello all. Here's my question. Do you feel that the  675/676 engines can be kept running for say, another 10 yrs? I ask because I am a small business owner and I run R models daily. My go to is a 93 RD690 and my backup is an 88 R690. Both 300 HP and seven speeds. I have recently acquired two more R models for parts. One is a  60s R600 and the other is a 75 R685ST (I think). They both have tip turbine engines. The 75 looks to be a 237 that has had the aftercooler added on. The engine tag reads 675 and the hood has been cut to allow for the second breather tube.  Both have cabs that are in decent shape , which is why I bought them. I know these old Macks are dead reliable , but they all need repair at some point. I am concerned with availability of parts (mostly engine). Is it a good idea to try and restore one of these with the intent to put it onthe road  in 2023? Would a swap to a newer engine family be advised? Thanks to all.

4 hours ago, JoeH said:

These motors will run until you break the carbide face on a valve lifter and wipe that lobe off the camshaft. Then you're borrowing the cam and a lifter from a spare engine.  Could happen tomorrow, could happen in 20 years.

Can you still get quality lifters for these? I would hate for some sub par Indian or Chinese lifters to wipe out an irreplaceable cam. 

On 10/26/2023 at 1:20 PM, SpreadingLime said: