1972 CF-600 ENDT675 Cold Weather Starting?

tenfive0

Question

New to me 1972 CF-600. Bought the truck over this past summer and there are no current issues with starting it in warmer or hot weather. I'm a retired Firefighter / Driver Operator and at the time our department exclusively only ran Mack CF-600's. Our trucks were ALL WAYS kept plugged in, in a heated garage. We never had to deal with our trucks being left out in the cold. They were always warm and cozy.

I do not have the luxury of keeping my truck in a heated garage over the winter. I plan on not running the truck much in the winter but I want to be able to start it to move it if I have to. I'm not familiar with the cold weather start cycle if there is one. Never gave it much thought when I was with the fire department because cold weather starting was never an issue. We just got in the truck turned the switches on and pushed the buttons. Is there a heat cycle of glow plugs associated with an ENDT675? Is there a safe and reliably sequence to starting the engine during cold weather that I should be aware of? There is a plug on the driver side bottom jump seat area of the dog box. I'm assuming it is for a block heater. Do I just keep the truck plugged in and not worry?   

Mack 11E.jpg

18 answers to this question

Well, I would not keep it plugged in all winter for no reason.   Just plug it in a few hours before you want to move it(depending on temp, longer).  Hold it to the floor, crank for 15-20 seconds.  Depending on if it wants to start, release starter, let cool for a moment, try again.  My old 673 would start at 19* temp with NO ether.  But it had 4 batteries and would spin it fast without trying.  Keep your batteries inside, only put them in truck if you need to start it.  Keep them charged up.

If the motor is not plum wore out, it should start pretty easy at normal winter temps.  Sub zero?  Might take some persuasion.