Rough Trip Home

fxfymn

Steelman aka Carey and I took my 52 to Trucktoberfest. While returning home on Sunday morning on I-81 just north of Harrisburg the trailer had a blow out.

After pulling as far to the right as the shoulder would allow I got out to assess the damage and start getting the spare on. As I was standing next to the trailer a car veered out of the right lane and actually crossed the white line right next to me. Just as I was saying a few choice words about the driver and his mental abilities I saw a PA State Trooper light 'em up and pull the driver over. My first thought was "Yes!! There is a God."

A few minutes later the trooper backed up to our location and asked me just how far the car had crossed the line. After getting my information he placed his car behind us and came up to help me change the tire. He told us he was actually off duty and was on the way to get his narcotics dog out of the kennel. I told him I was a retired firefighter and that I would probably have to take back all the shit I gave cops over the years because of him. He laughed and said that despite popular perception they are in the right place at the right time on occasion.

All went well until we were just a couple of miles from home when a second tire let go on the trailer. Fortunately I had bought new tires to replace the existing tires because they were getting up in age. A quick trip home to get another tire and we were soon on our way again.

Glad to be home safely and very grateful to a very good PA State Trooper. And yes, there are now four brand new "Made in the USA" Goodyear trailer tires on the lowboy.

• Like 2

Money, sex, and fire; everybody thinks everyone else is getting more than they are!

Glad to hear you are okay. Scares the bejeebers out of me changing a tire ON the roadside.