864 v8

Jocko

Hey guys I have another issue with the b 815 the truck shuts off once it reaches 180 degrees. I had it running and I blocked the front of the radiator cause I wanted to build up the tempature. And once it hit 180 it shuts down and won't start till its cold again. Is there like a safety shut down on this engine somewhere. I can't find any wires going to anything.

If there's a circuit, I would think it would have to go to the fuel pump.

Isn't that a mechanical pump, with the "pull knob to shut off"?

If so, the pump wouldn't have any wires on it normally?

Maybe some added fuel shutoff valve somewhere?

Beats me!

• Like 1

"Eagles may soar, but weasels don't get sucked into jet engines."

I am no expert by any means, but there is either some sort of mechanical device that ties a temperature probe to the fuel system, or someone has added some kind of electric solenoid to the fuel line somewhere...I have never heard of either, but if present, it should no tbe hard to find!

Find your temperature sensor...if it is a bourdon tube that runs to the guage, that is not it...follow the fuel line from the tank to the pump, you will find it if something was added...

I don't think that is the issue though, because 180 degrees ought to be pretty close to the normal operating temperature...may be another issue that coincides withe the termperature rise...

• Like 1

I am no expert by any means, but there is either some sort of mechanical device that ties a temperature probe to the fuel system, or someone has added some kind of electric solenoid to the fuel line somewhere...I have never heard of either, but if present, it should no tbe hard to find!

Find your temperature sensor...if it is a bourdon tube that runs to the guage, that is not it...follow the fuel line from the tank to the pump, you will find it if something was added...