Maxidyne Dual Stick Questions..

I've not been in the trucking industry long. I recently graduated Class A cdl school and have been looking since my graduation date for a job hauling coal. Well I've found a job and went on location today to check out the route and load out, and dump. I then went to look at the truck I'd be driving and it was an older mack 10 wheeler (not sure what model I've looked online and can't find one exactly like it) and have just noticed I've got 2 sticks!!!!!! Being a novice I instantly ran home and to the net where my answer should have been waiting on me. ERNNTTTTT wrong answer. Not seen anything "exact;y" like the info I need. SO one of you MACkers out in the forum tell me what shifter does what and what's the pattern? I know it's a 5 speed MAxiDyne and that's all I know. I'll be waiting for your response..

Edited by BlackSmokeRolling

Hay you gotta start somewhere go for it,the stick on the left is for the main box gears 1 through 5,the stick on the right is for low hole,direct, and reverse.

Sheww yeah I know. I was just praying that wouldn't be the type of old mack I'd have to drive but it is. Thanks for the info. SO just say like to pull out I'd put the 2nd stick in direct and then just shift the gears I through 5(if it was flat land not a hole)? Or do I use the 2nd stick for a splitter?

if your in a hole then you put the second stick into Lo then when your on level ground you hift the second stick from Lo to direct then you shift on the main 1-2-3-4-5

Ok so I get it. In the flat ground my right stick will stay in direct. Which is downward. Then I shift my gears normally. When I'm pulling a grade which I will be with switchbacks and mud and all I'll put the old dog in lo and shift them. There's no splitting involved...