Power plant mechanic needed in New Hampshire

B61Hobby

Hey there,

Just checking in for suggestions on a Diesel Mechanic in or around New Hampshire that know his or her way around the old B-Series.  I have a 1961 B61 with a turbo diesel.  It fires up when you spray a ether/WD40 mix in the air intake but it wont stay running.  It sounds really solid and healthy but just wont stay going.  I am new to the diesel game let alone the B-Series game so I have little knowledge or contacts.  I bought the old ruck to restore over time, I just love the look and it will make a great conversation piece on the farm.  The first step is to get it running consistently.  

Any contacts you can give would be great.  Thanks!!!

I second the stuck plunger/rack if it's been sitting long, does the fuel shut off lever have any resistance or does it just pivot freely?

I don't know anyone in your area but there's more than enough learned individuals on here to walk you through it.

On the front of the injection pump there is a long acorn nut. Take it off to see the "rack". If rack sticks out past the front face of injection pump, try pushing it back into pump. If it won't move, the rack is stuck in the full fuel position. If the pump had been getting fuel, the engine should have started and gone wide open and scared the crap out of you. But since it didn't, you have issues with fuel supply.

Now, if the rack is flush with the front face of the injection pump or a little shy of flush and the fuel shut off cable is pushed all the way in, the rack is stuck in no fuel position. Ain't no way it's going to start. Most likely cause is one plunger in pump is stuck and has the rack fouled.