E7 Oil filter housing/Oil cooler leak

USMC205

I've got an '01 E7 460 that has the double spin on with centrifugal filter on top.  It seems like the oil filter housing is leaking down the side of the block.  It seems to be getting worse over time so it's time to get at it.  I'm new to working on this engine but it seems like the oil cooler is right there with it.  I'm thinking drain down coolant, unhook lines going to the cooler, unbold housing at block, replace gasket or whatever it has and bolt everything back up.  Does this seem about right and is there anything I should know or any extra parts I will need?  I tried searching and couldn't find a topic on it.  Thanks for the help.

Don't remember how exactly they're put together, but oil cooler gaskets and o rings should be readily available and easy to change.  Might need to to change the rubber drain tube out the bottom of the centrifilter, it may be hardened with age.

If the oil cooler isn't leaking I wouldn't touch it. I forget if the oil filter housing is attached to the oil cooler or just to the block.

Ill check more into it tomorrow, hopefully I can just unbolt the oil filter housing from the block and replace the gasket and be done.  I already have that gasket, it might be a pain in the ass to do it without touching the oil cooler, but we'll see.

12 hours ago, Mack Technician said:

Make sure you get the correct pedestal gasket for the oil manifold base. I believe there are two variations that can be easily swapped after Mack did the left hand revision for the flipped centrimax and cluster plate cooler. 

THIS! Make certain you have the exact gasket that came of it.

• Like 1

8 minutes ago, Mack Technician said:

Volvo helped cured the issue by screwing up Mack’s parts system. Now they have to chassis search every part instead of operating on shelf-memory and the first two alpha’s.