Single axle dump - thoughts

Hi Everyone,

I'm a noob. This site has been great to read and learn about Macks that I've always been drawn to. I feel like I'm getting addicted with all this info in one place. Same thing happened to me on the vintage Onan generator section on Smokstak (highly recommended).

I'm looking for a 6 wheel dump to putt around with and tinker on. I've been looking at 1980s R models, DM's, and now I found this U model on craigslist. I just wanted some of your thoughts on what to look for when considering buying one of these trucks. Here are a couple I'm planning on taking a look at locally:

U686 5 speed with 300HP Econodyne. Is Maxidyne a better engine? http://nh.craigslist.org/cto/5042356581.html

R600 5 speed w/ Maxidyne 237, price seems right http://nh.craigslist.org/hvo/5060256076.html

Any thoughts on these trucks or experiances you've had with similar model trucks? - good or bad. I'm just looking for a place to get started.

-Matt

Welcome. Based on your comment I'd assume you are thinking of a hobby, not so much a true work truck. Both trucks look nice but that R looks like it could be a find. The 237 hp w/ a 5-spd. was in its day a great set up. Only complaint I had on the 237 in 82' was it idled a little rough - but otherwise you will see it's surprisingly powerful. I am partial to R's, they still have a classic look. The U is an offset cab (just in case, you'll see the door is flush with the left side of the body, the right mirror is on a long bracket off the air cleaner). The U is easy to drive and they always seemed easy to turn and were typically spec'd heavy. I'd take a good look at the R first. Only other advice is they aren't too expensive to buy, or insure as antiques, but they are expensive to fix, store, have towed, etc. That said, a nice dump at a good price holds it's value well. Have fun, and don't be afraid to ask. Guys on the site have tons of knowledge.

• Like 1